All for Joomla All for Webmasters

Top 10 Indian cricketers of all time

Top 10 Indian cricketers of all time

1. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin is commonly called as the “God of Cricket”, “Master Blaster” and by many other names as well. He is one among the most popular cricketer in the whole world in the current generation. He is the leading run scorer and century maker in both Test ODI cricket. Sachin is the youngest recipient and the first ever sportsman to receive the Bharatha Ratna award.

2. Sourav Ganguly

Ganguly was affectionately known as the Dada which means “Elder Brother” in Bengali. He is currently the President of the Cricket Association of Bengal and also the President of the Editorial Board with Wisden India. He was very strong on the off side which has also earned himself a nickname ‘God of the Offside’.

3. Rahul Dravid

David who is well known for his nickname “The Wall” was a calm and collective batsman in the Indian team. He holds up a rock-solid defense when it comes to batting. He has achieved a lot in both Test and ODI as a result of his cool and calm approach to any form of the bowling attack. Also, he holds the record for longest time spent by a player inside the crease and the highest number of balls faced.

4. Mahendra Singh Dhoni

MS Dhoni is commonly called as “Captain Cool” and he got this name as a result of his captaincy skills in the Indian team. He is also well known and recognized for his lightning-fast stumpings. He was the only Indian captain to achieve success in all formats of the game.

5. Anil Kumble

Kumble captained team India for both Test and ODI in the past. He was given the nickname “Jumbo” by Navjot Singh Sidhu during Irani Trophy game. He remains the third highest wicket taker of all time behind Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne. Unlike others, Kumble relied completely on the pace, bounce, and accuracy of the balls he bowl.

6. Virat Kohli

Kohli is an international cricketer who captains the Indian cricket team across all formats at present. He is regarded as one of the best batsmen in the world and is nicknamed as “Chase Master” due to his performances in limited overs cricket. He poses a great technique and holds several records like the second batsman in the world to have scored more than 1,000 ODI runs in a calendar year and also expected to break many new records.

7. Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh is an all-rounder who has shown powerful batting techniques in the game. He has played in all forms of the game and is commonly know as “Yuvi”. He made a starry debut in a match against England at the 2007 World T20 by hitting six sixes in an over bowled by Stuart Broad. In the same match, he also set a record for the fastest 50 in T20I and he made it by reaching 50 runs in just 12 balls.

8. Virender Sehwag

Shewag is a former Indian cricketer who is also called as “Viru” is an aggressive right-handed batsman. He was also nicknamed as “Sachin Double” as it was like Sachin batting on both ends during his debut against Pakistan in 1999. Even though he is no good with footwork, he compensated it with his meticulous wristwork. He holds the record of the second player to score a double hundred in ODI and also holds a spot among one of the players to score triple hundred in Test.

9. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is the vice-captain of the Indian team in limited over formats. He is nicknamed “Hitman” because of his power-hitting capabilities to score big centuries when it comes to setting up big totals for India in ODI’s. He is a top order batsman who holds the record for highest ODI individual score of 264 runs.

10. Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina was commonly known as “Sanu” is a left-handed middle order batsman. He has been the player to can count on during crucial matches where India has struggled with its top order. He was also the only player to score more than 350 runs in every IPL season held so far.