All for Joomla All for Webmasters

Sri Lanka Tour of Australia: Patterson added to Australian Test squad

Sri Lanka Tour of Australia: Patterson added to Australian Test squad

The Indian visitors have just left the Australian soil with victory in Test and ODI series. Now it’s time for the Sri Lankan visitors to start their series against Australia. It seems there are some changes in the Squad of Aussies.

Australian selectors added Kurtis Patterson to the test team at the last possible moment, making his case undeniable after his twin centuries in a pink ball match last week in Hobart. In the three-day match last week, the 25-year-old hit unbeaten knocks of 157 and 102, with his first innings masterclass steadying the ship after the Cricket Australia XI collapsed to 3/25. When the young Victorian gun Will Pucovski (23) fell, leaving the score 4/88, it meant that he and the other three members of the Test Squad-Joe Burns (4), Matt Renshaw (7) and Marnus Labuschagne (6) failed to make early waves.

To Patterson and Jake Doran (102*), this left the door open to leave the selectors red-faced, with no player selected in the Test squad. The backflip was revealed on Monday, however, as the selectors reportedly included Patterson in the test series, which starts on Thursday at the Brisbane Cricket Ground (Gabba), Australia.

Patterson’s first call-up comes close to Jhye Richardson’s inclusion in the Test team as a substitute for the injured Josh Hazlewood, Pucovski being the other uncapped player in the current 14-member team.

Australia squad: Tim Paine (c/wk), Joe Burns, Will Pucovski, Matt Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Kurtis Patterson, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle

Patterson will join the team today in preparation for the opening test-a day-night meeting from Thursday (January 24) at The Gabba. The second and final test will take place on 1 February in Manuka Oval in Canberra.

Sri Lanka squad: Dinesh Chandimal (c), Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Kusal Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha


PS: Download the CricDost app for your Android or iOS app and enjoy watching live scores and updates for the ongoing and upcoming ODI series.