All for Joomla All for Webmasters

The Board of Control for Cricket in India: BCCI Elections

The Board of Control for Cricket in India: BCCI Elections

The BCCI or Indian cricket board is getting a set of stable officials. Out of the existing 37 units, 26 state associations have already complied with the new constitution laid out and approved for the BCCI by the Supreme Court. They are on their way to hold BCCI Elections and on August 5, according to the SC-appointed committee of administrators (CoA)’s Chairman Mr. Vinod Rai, four more associations are joining the election compliance. Electoral officers have also been appointed for the 26 state units. On the whole, he said that there would be 30 fully compliant bodies. Furthermore, for the 4 state units without the election officers, an amicus will be consulted with.

October 22 according to the CoA, will be the date when BCCI will be holding their elections. A general body is to be appointed as well, a task that has been unfulfilled for more than two years, and which led to disharmony in the functioning of the board and administrative confusion. Within the constitution, a few of the associations are still contesting some of the reformatory actions such as the cooling-off period. The office bearers are categorically opposing to a specific clause that outlines a cooling off the period for about three years. So, those who have held their respective positions for six or more would be rendered disqualified. Voting in the BCCI elections will be allowed for those who are compliant with the norms. Once the state elections are held the chief electoral officer of BCCIwill ask the associations to give the names of the representatives for the Annual General Meeting and the elections. They are also expected to issue guidelines, thereafter.

CAC of conflict cleared by the CoA

Despite CoA member, Diana Edulji’s objection, the CoA along with the BCCI’s legal team cleared the members of the cricket advisory committee (CAC) of any conflict of interest. The CAC is made up of Shantha Rangaswamy, Kapil Dev and Anshuman Gaekwad. The next head coach for the senior men’s team is going to be appointed by the CAC and they are already in the process of doing so. However, CoA member Diana Edulji seems to have objected to this, since she felt that the board’s ethics officer should be performing this. But with Ravindra Thodge and Rai going with the legal team, she was outvoted. It is against the BCCI constitution to accept an objection to having a temporary CAC.

Receive more interesting news, updates and live scores on your smartphones, download CricDost app now!