All for Joomla All for Webmasters

The Window For Caribbean Premier League Confirmed

The Window For Caribbean Premier League Confirmed

To ensure that all West Indies players are available for the tournament, Cricket West Indies has formulated a window for its franchise-based annual T20 competition- the Caribbean Premier League. The CWI wanted to ensure maximum participation from players in the 2020 season of the Caribbean Premier League and have decided that the tournament will be played between August 19 and September 26.

This window does not clash with other tournaments in the world and especially with England and Wales Cricket Board’s new tournament, The Hundred. This ensures that overseas players will be able to participate in the competition in the Caribbean as per the wishes of CWI.

“We are very pleased to be playing our tournament in August and September, time of year that is perfect for us and our fans. Having the best Caribbean cricketers and the world’s best overseas players is the foundation of our tournament and this period gives us that,” said Pete Russell, COO of CPL. “We may be just days away from the 2019 tournament, but we are already making plans for next year to ensure that we continue to see the phenomenal growth and economic impact that CPL has seen over the years.”

“The CPL has developed into one of the best and most exciting T20 competitions in the world and we look forward to hosting another successful tournament next month,” Johnny Grave, CEO of CWI, noted. “We are pleased that we have once again found a window in our international calendar for the 2020 season to ensure that all the best West Indian cricketers can take part, as the tournament plays a crucial role in our preparations and planning for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2020.”

The 2019 Caribbean Premier League will be the seventh edition of the tournament and will begin from 4th September. Originally intended to begin on 21 August, the date was pushed back to avoid conflict with India’s tour of West Indies. This year, St. Lucia Zouks franchise will replace St. Lucia Stars team who was axed from the competition.

Receive more interesting news, updates and live scores on your smartphones, download CricDost app now!