All for Joomla All for Webmasters

Big Bash League will introduce strategic timeouts from 2019-20 Season

Big Bash League will introduce strategic timeouts from 2019-20 Season

Trying to emulate the Indian Premier League’s nuance, Australia’s Big Bash League will implement strategic timeouts from this season but unlike the IPL, there will only be one timeout per innings and it is supposed to last for 90 seconds. The batting unit will be allowed to call the timeout between the seventh and thirteenth over.

There were some changes made to the Super Over format as well. The ICC recently introduced multiple Super Overs in the case of a tied Super Over after the infamous World Cup final this year and the BBL has decided to implement the same in its finals game.

If the Super Over of a league game ends undecided, points will be split between both the teams.

“We are always looking for ways to improve the competition for our fans, players and clubs,” Cricket Australia’s Head of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson said on the changes to the playing conditions. “The super over has been a discussion point globally after the ICC Cricket World Cup Final. We are pleased to have landed on a solution that provides teams and fans with a more satisfying outcome to a finals match.

“The Strategic Time Out has been thought about and developed over the last couple of years, with input from key stakeholders in the game. We’ve seen the strategic time outs used in other T20 competitions around the world, and we feel that providing the batting team with the power to call a time out will add an extra tactical dimension to the outcome of the game, with the priority of maximizing runs.”

Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder will kickstart the tournament at The Gabba in Brisbane on December 17.

Receive more interesting news, updates and live scores on your smartphones, download CricDost app now!