All for Joomla All for Webmasters

Bangladesh Cricket Board has named Mominul Haque as the Test captain

Bangladesh Cricket Board has named Mominul Haque as the Test captain

Bangladesh Cricket Board has appointed Mominul Haque as the leader of the side in red-ball cricket against India. Meanwhile, Mahmudullah Riyad will take charge of the side in the shortest format of the sport, as confirmed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board. These changes were made after skipper Shakib Al Hasan was found guilty of failing to report bookie approaches to the ICC and was handed a two-year ban from international cricket which rules him out for the series against India.

The BCB also noted several other changes to the T20 squad. The injured Mohammed Saifuddin will be replaced by Abu Hider Rony. Tamim Iqbal, who withdrew from the series due to personal reasons will be replaced by Mohammad Mithun. Saifuddin has been troubled by his recurring back injury while Iqbal’s wife is expecting her second child. Tamim wanted to take time to be by her side during this period and reported BCB of the same.
Taijul Islam comes as a direct replacement for Shakib in the T20 squad. The left-arm spinner, who made his T20I debut earlier this year against Zimbabwe, has featured in only two games with the second coming against Afghanistan.

In the Test squad, Saif Hasan, the uncapped 20-year-old batsman, has been called up. The right-hander has played 36 first-class games and has 2217 runs to his name at an average of 46.18. Al Amin Hossain, who last played a Test in 2014, finds a spot in the 15-member squad. Also included in the squad is Ebadot Hossain, who was dropped after the series in New Zealand and Mustafizur Rahman, who returns in place of Taskin Ahmed.

Receive more interesting news, updates and live scores on your smartphones, download CricDost app now!