All for Joomla All for Webmasters

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup – An Overview

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup – An Overview

The story so far…

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was earlier known as ICC T20 World Cup is an International Championship of Cricket ruled for 20 overs. This championship is held every two years, hosted by different countries by the governing body of cricket- International Council of Cricket.

The inaugural event was hosted by South Africa in 2007 and the title winners were none other than Dhoni led Team India. India Defeated Pakistan at Johannesburg in South Africa and clinched the historic title. The latest championship title was won by West Indies who defeated England in 2016 final.
Story so far….

Year Finals Winners Venue
2007 India  vs Pakistan India South Africa
2009 Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Pakistan England
2010 England vs Australia England West Indies
2012 West Indies vs Sri Lanka West Indies Sri lanka
2014 Sri Lanka vs India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2016 West Indies vs England West Indies India


West Indies holds the current championship title and has done it twice in the six tournaments played. Sri Lanka has managed to play in the three finals of the magnanimous tournaments wheres England managed to win their first-ever ICC championship trophy in 2010 after crushing Australia in West Indies. Kangaroos are all set to host the next edition of this entertaining tournament.

Aussies would be looking to register the title at their soil and to mark their attendance in the Winners Directory. Pakistan looks promising while holding the first place in the current ICC T20 Rankings. Tables might turn as the defending champions – West Indies would like to jump above in the ranking list from the 10th spot. Team India is in terrific form and has shown some real potential and strength on the field in every almost every format of the sport. It won’t be wrong to position India on top of the list of favorites.

Current ICC Men’s T20 Rankings…


Receive more interesting news, updates and live scores on your smartphones, download CricDost app now!